free

May 22, 2008

I am not an absence of rib, nor am I clay
infused with anemos. I am not an emergent pattern
of patterns upon patterns

oscillating like harmonics…
or an intertextual meme; I do not,
like Prospero, raise storms by brushing
or clipping wings.

I am not the words or the thoughts
or the void, the emptiness; I am not Buddha’s neither this nor that,
nor the unbound, nor the probabilistic causeway that giants like Heisenberg

cast upon the waves they saw. I am not the sea of consciousness,
nor do I lack existence. I am not my name.
I am not a number.

12 Responses to “free”

  1. skankinmitten said

    alright, so, very sweet.

    i like the way you use “not”, in order to explain what is, very nice, crafty? sneaky even =p

  2. Well, poetry is a craft, after all. Thanks for your kind comment, skankinmitten.

    endlessly

  3. endlessly, you are a very talented poet. I am so glad to read all of these that you’ve recently posted. I have been waiting (patiently, silently, hopefully).

  4. Thankyou fightingwindmills, great to see you here… it’s so cool that people remembered this place 🙂 .

  5. No one told me poets get groupies, but I shan’t complain. And thanks for the far-too-kind review, Snailrind.

  6. Snailrind said

    So are you going to bring out a book, or what?

  7. First I have to win competitions and publish work in journals, which I haven’t done much of so far. I consider myself to be at the apprentice stage as a poet; I’m still developing my voice, my vocabulary, my knowledge of meter and so on. But if I do get a book deal, rest assured I’ll announce it here.

    But books by new poets are few and far between; publishers don’t tend to take risks on them because we, the public, don’t buy them. I’ve more chance of getting into an anthology of new poets, but I’ll have to work the journals and build up a presence first.

    It’s really good to get support like yours, Snailrind, and to be recommended on Stumbleupon… poets spend so much time trying to get people to read their work that it’s almost a wake-up call to find people who are genuinely interested. Joking aside, it’s a pretty cool feeling.

  8. Snailrind said

    Hey. 🙂

    I understand what you’re saying about your voice; but a poet’s voice never stops developing in his lifetime, and if your second book is different from your first, that’s a plus, no?

    The editors of poetry journals obviously wish to perpetuate the idea that they are the gateway to success as a poet. Me, I’m sceptical about this, especially with the advent of the Internet.

    Granted, the competitions-journals-book route is a useful quick-reference guarantee for prospective publishers, who of course are keen for sales. Thus poetry is the one area of literature where self publishing is a good idea, because, as you say, it ain’t a money-spinner. Moreover, poets seem to sell more of their books by doing readings and running workshops than by leaving it all to the publishers. Most of the people at a reading/workshop don’t know the poet, haven’t read the journals, and buy the books anyway.

    Course, self-publishing is exactly what you’re doing in your blog, and one might ask why it’s necessary to produce a book at all. Good question. It’s necessary because I want to buy one and hold it in my hands and put it on my shelf, mm-kay?

    http://www.lulu.com/uk/

    P.S. I review books for Orbis International Poetry Magazine. I’m just sayin’.

  9. Interestingly, on the online workshop I use as a learning tool and testing ground, my poem ‘Sheen’ has just been described as ‘uninspired nonsense’. So critically there’s a wide gulf of opinion about my work.

    You could be right, and I’ll have a look at lulu. I’d always thought that self-publishing in print was, well, you know.

    Orbis you say? Gosh.

    In that case, if it’s the rainforest or me…

  10. Paul said

    What an interesting comments section, it almost answered my question of what’s left after all that negative definition for you to be. Everywhere I look in your site there are people telling you you should do this or that. I think you should just keep doing what you are doing because it is making some brilliant poetry.

  11. Thankyou, your comment made me smile. I kinda know what I’m doing, as far as one can anyway 🙂 .

Leave a Reply

