Hypatia comments on her wikipedia entry

March 16, 2007

They paint me nude, as usual.
In some ways I am flattered, but
I sought treasures beyond skin.

The article says that the astrolabe
and hydrometer are
attributed to me on scant evidence.

Perhaps they should dress me in it.
The gods know I was naked enough
after the oyster shells uttered my bones.

Later, my most precious skins were sent
to the fire. I expect Cyril thought
that would finally put me in my place.

It is a shame the mob choked their pearls
on my blood, and flamed mine from history. Maybe

it is right that beauty endures
when all else is flayed.

Leave a Reply

