joining the ether

March 12, 2007

I blew my head off
clean off. It split on the wind
into a million hummingbirds

and I clutched the blur
before the impact, the fray
between the chords.

Flick through enough pictures
and they start to look like a movie,
but silver screens are mirrors

most often. I am dying again
for good this time. My blues
beat: more sky now than feather.

4 Responses to “joining the ether”

  1. I’ve said it before, but your imagery is terrific!

    “It split on the wind into a million hummingbirds” – that is just fantastic.

  2. Thankyou so much, transwriter. You are very kind indeed. Hummingbirds positively demand to be used in poetry, I think. I may start a movement…

  3. I think I would join that movement. I’ll let you know when I write a poem with hummingbirds in it.

  4. I wrote a poem with hummingbirds in it.

Leave a Reply

