it’s all feathers

February 28, 2007

He stares again at the mountain:
climbing or falling it’s all feathers.
He sticks his heart with a quill
and the red rises like mercury.

Hearts flying, hearts casting shells
like eagles crack livid things
to scoop hearts and make feathers.

I gave up making sense, because
some fool made sense in a shell
and called it a mountain. It’s all

feathers and falling, plucking
and climbing and flying into morning.

8 Responses to “it’s all feathers”

  1. haijin said

    Wow you were busy today. Great poetry. I really enjoyed the senryu. I’ll drop by again.

  2. Yes, I write fast, when I am writing.

    I’m just glad that they actually are something like senryu – I guess I can be a bit snobbish but it sort of upsets me when people think that a haiku/senryu is just any old poem with 17 syllables… it’s like they’re missing out on how cool the form really is, and not just cool but useful in teaching ourselves positive ways to engage with the world, interpret it.

    Very glad you liked, your opinion means a lot.

    endlessly

  3. Hi. How could I mind you dropping by my blog when you left such a lovely comment? Thank you.

    Now to leave you one: I love the imagery in this poem – the mountain, the blood. The struggle alluded to here becomes a great picture, which makes me feel, see, hear all that poetry was meant for. Well done.

    P.S. My most recent post is about haiku, in which I included a few that I wrote. Although, I must admit, that I didn’t focus on the form. What do you think about Jack Keourac’s “Western Haiku?”

  4. I just checked some out: they are nice, though most are actually senryu. I have some trouble respecting the work of people who appropriate a cultural form without first finding out what it is… in general I’m not a ‘beat writer’ afficionado I’m afraid, though that could be because I’ve not read enough. All the ramblings of drug addicts are interesting in pretty similar and quickly exhaustible ways – basically I tried to read Alan Ginsberg’s Howl and thought it perhaps important in a cultural sense, but also extremely badly written, self indulgent, self aggrandising and plain irritating. That’s basically my entire beat poet experience. Also the Buddhist stuff seems a bit half baked and half understood – I’d say poets like Robert Frost or Emily Dickinson or Plath are closer to expressing ‘American Zen’.

    All that said, I’m basically prejudiced because a long time ago a fake beat poet took over the regular poetry night I attended and read nonsense in a bad american accent. I’m sure there’s some cool stuff going on there… also everyone my age (20s) seems to rate the beats, and I’m contrary – I mean, the beats were the road less travelled then, so now they’re so popular it’s more in keeping with their ethos NOT to read them 😉 .

    Maybe you’ll convince me otherwise.

    endlessly

  5. Oh, dear. I feel I was rather hard on the beats there. Not on Howl though.

    endlessly

  6. What’s the correct form for senryu? I would like to try it.

    I think you’re right about Frost, Dickinson, and Plath. Sylvia Plath is, honestly, one of my all-time favorites. Did you ever see the film in which Gwyneth Paltrow played her? I cried, and cried, and cried.

    You’re English, aren’t you? I seem to have picked up on a few clues here and there. I married an Englishman. I like your kind.

  7. Yes, well, born in England but my parents are/were Welsh. I haven’t seen that film, no… I sort of banned myself from doing so, because I don’t want Hollywood’s pictures becoming my pictures of her.

    I’m glad you like our kind; we have bad food and bad wine but great music.

    Senryu are similar to haiku in form, but deal with human behaviour rather than nature. I use the seventeen syllable thing not because I think it’s important but because I like the challenge of fitting them… also I’m quite a scruffy, eclectic person so it’s my little haven of order.

    endlessly

  8. That’s an admirable reason not to see the movie, though if you love Gwenyth Paltrow as I do, you couldn’t stop yourself from seeing it. 😉

    Yes, the UK has some of my favorite music, indeed.

Leave a Reply

