fair use

February 16, 2007

The pictures are gone. I have been advised by a friend that they do not fall under the ‘fair use’ guidelines I assumed they did fall under. So they have fallen under a bridge, and superman is out partying.

I assumed that my usage of said pictures was ‘transformative’ and hence unlikely to be seen as substituting for the original purpose of the images. I also thought that most of the artists wouldn’t mind too much, being cosily dead.

If I can resolve this issue, the pictures may return, or otherwise I will have to paint them; this could take some time, as first I shall have to learn how to paint. Do not, however, underestimate me: this is no idle promise; I will start with the Lascaux paintings and work my way up.

endlessly

Leave a Reply

